We have our first entry for the Ponder Autumn Poetry Contest!

Thank you to John Herres for being brave enough to go first.

Monsters

Monsters are real to an extent, it seems,
They mainly stick to really bad dreams.
At times, however, a feeling I get
That one may be lurking in the shadows yet.
On a foggy night that fills me with dread,
I think I feel persons long since dead.
They creep through the night and whisper to me;
They tap on my shoulder and laugh with glee.
I feel icy cold fingers grip me tight
And not want to let up for the rest of the night.
Footsteps behind me, I increase my pace;
In the window’s reflection, I see a dead face.
I hear spectral laughter, my heartbeat increases,
And fear makes me sweat, and want to go to pieces.
I feel the small hairs on the back of my neck
Prickle and stand up like sailors on a deck.
The air turns cold all the sudden it seems,
And then I hear blood curdling screams
Of those who’ve been taken before their time
And search for whomever committed the crime.

by John Herres

http://www.johntmherres.com/

Okay all you ghouls and goblins–climb out of your coffins and pick up your plumes! Don’t be frightened away just because our first contestant has a website link. Everyone’s invited!

Send in your gremlin-punch jingles, your disturbing bedtime stories, and your pumpkin-toss tongue twisters; any topic autumn related from cornucopias to candy corn. Oh, and you can enter as many times as you like. Details are below on the October 15th post.

Do you like this contest entry? Leave your thoughts in the box!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1CRsEmC5sQ&feature=related&rel-0

