Last February my sister and I celebrated our first birthday together in over twenty-five years.  We packed a picnic, grabbed a bottle of wine and drove out to the desert.  There, with saguaros standing sentinel, we had our first conversation together as adults.

 Our last deep conversation had been over a bag of butterscotch baking chips, I think I was all of five years old at the time.  My sister married when she was eighteen, I was seven, and in the years that followed we had become strangers.  So there we were, two middle-aged women with a lifetime’s worth of stories.

 I remember there was a soft, warm breeze rustling through the scrub brush.  Slowly we began by sharing our painful stories first.  Before long we were crying with each other’s pain, laughing at our similar mishaps and marveling at how alike we truly are.

This is the magic of sisters.  That no matter how much time or distance may come between us our special connection will always hold true.  

 

“Today I’m participating in a mass blogging! WOW! Women On Writing has gathered a group of blogging buddies to write about family relationships. Why family relationships? We’re celebrating the release of Therese Walsh’s debut novel today. The Last Will of Moira Leahy, (Random House, October 13, 2009) is about a mysterious journey that helps a woman learn more about herself and her twin, whom she lost when they were teenagers. Visit The Muffin (http://www.wow-womenonwriting.com/blog.html) to read what Therese has to say about family relationships and view the list of all my blogging buddies. And make sure you visit Therese’s website (http://www.theresewalsh.com) to find out more about the author.”

Last Will of Moira Leahy bookcover

